Human Services

Department of Human Services Logo



To serve Coloradans through bold and innovative health and human services. 


Together, we empower Coloradans to thrive.


The Colorado Department of Human Services collaborates with partners in State and county governments, nonprofits, advocates, community residents, providers and many others to design and deliver high-quality health and human services that improve the safety, independence and well-being of the people of Colorado. Specifically, the department supports and/or provides care for Colorado families who need assistance with food, cash, employment or energy assistance; children and at-risk/vulnerable adults at risk of abuse or neglect; individuals with developmental disabilities; pre-adjudicated and committed youth in trauma-responsive environments; civil and forensic mental health patients; older adults and their families who need resources to care for themselves/their elderly parents; Colorado’s veteran heroes and their spouses; and Deaf, hard-of-hearing, and deafblind Coloradans. The department’s staff is committed to providing the right services to the right people in the right setting at the right time.

Beyond the Senior Executive Team and the Executive Director’s Office, which includes the Administrative Solutions team, the Financial Services team, the Chief Strategy team and the Community Partnerships team, the department is split into four management offices, each led by an office director. The intent of these eight teams is to provide a leadership structure that enables and facilitates a cross-system approach to the human services programs in Colorado. These eight teams are:

Administrative Solutions provides services that help program areas achieve their goals. It is responsible for a number of support functions to make our agency as efficient, effective and impactful as possible. Administrative Solutions comprises Human Resources; Facilities Management, Business Technology, Emergency Management, Leadership and Organizational Development, and Legal Affairs. 

Community Partnerships build strong relationships within the department and with communities across the state to serve Coloradans effectively. Community Partnerships provides strategic coordination to ensure the success of the whole person, whole family, whole community approach to human service delivery, while also overseeing external entities and agencies with whom the department contracts. Community Partnerships also provides senior leadership for the Office of Children, Youth and Families; Office of Economic Security; Aging and Adult Services Division; Boards and Commissions; Community and Family Engagement; and County Services.

Financial Services is responsible for managing the department’s $2.3 billion budget and an additional $800 million in federal pass-through dollars for direct benefits. Financial Services provides governance, oversight, training and education to the department’s programs as well as county partners. Financial Services oversees Budget and Policy, Accounting, Payroll, and Contracts and Procurement.

The Chief Strategy Office (CSO) analyzes complex issues, identifies areas for improvement, and develops effective solutions that positively impact Coloradans.  CSO oversees the Division of Communication Services; Project Management; Performance Management; and Equity, Diversity and Inclusion — all to guide a strategic, bold and innovative approach to problem-solving and helping the department better serve its clients.

The Office of Adult, Aging and Disability Services fosters independence to Coloradans through access to seamless and responsive personalized service. OAADS focuses on services and programs benefiting older adults, people with disabilities, and veterans requiring assisted living care. Divisions include Aging and Adult Services; Disability Determination Services; Regional Centers; and Veterans Community Living Centers. Programs include the Mindsource Brain Injury Network program and the Colorado Commission for the Deaf, Hard of Hearing, and DeafBlind.

The Office of Civil and Forensic Mental Health operates Colorado’s two mental health hospitals, the Forensic Services Division and the Mental Health Transitional Living Homes. The office provides a continuum of mental health care that includes pre-trial competency restoration services, inpatient hospitalization and transition homes for community-based care. OCFMH serves civil patients, who  are committed by a civil court into the care of the Colorado Department of Human Services, whether voluntarily or involuntarily, because they have serious and persistent mental health conditions, and forensic patients at the intersection of the criminal justice and the mental health systems. OCFMH works across the justice system to provide evaluations, treatment and case management for these clients.

The Office of Children, Youth and Families is responsible for the coordination of quality and effective services for Colorado’s most vulnerable children, youth and their families. OCYF houses seven programs and divisions: the Colorado Sexual Health Initiative; Division of Child Welfare; Domestic Violence Program; Division of Youth Services; Juvenile Parole Board; Medical Oversight; and Pay for Success. Additionally, legislative and finance staff are dedicated to advancing the policy and budgetary priorities of the office, and the communications team works to increase understanding of the office’s impact and encourage Coloradans to become involved in strengthening families. Each team is uniquely organized and pursues defined goals to best collaborate with counties and community partners to empower people in Colorado to thrive.

The Office of Economic Security operates programs that provide income, employment, nutritional and support services to those in need. Divisions include Child Support Services, Economic and Workforce Support, and Food and Energy Assistance.

Performance Plans